Photo a Day: Day 10

13 04 2010

April 13th

Camera: Nikon D5000
ISO Equivalence: 200
Focal length: 18mm
Aperture: f5.6
Flash: Fired

Recycling the brass lamp for today’s shot, along with a pair of antique binoculars which were a car boot purchase some months ago.
On the subject of secondhand bargains, I have to say, if you have the time and the inclination, it’s so completely worth it for the items you can pick up for a fraction of the price. Last weekend yielded the aforementioned contact sheet frame, as well as the lamp pictured above, but also a camera bag large enough to hold both my Nikon DSLR plus lens and flash, and my Bronica ETRS, plus Metz hammerhead, and flash meter, with space left for a few rolls of film. Something I’d been looking at buying to ferry my kit between home, and my boyfriend’s place, where I spend my weekends, without resorting to three or four camera bags plus a suitcase of clothes. New, I’d have been looking at a figure around the £50 mark, and more likely more towards £100. This Cobra shoulder bag set me back a mere £7.50.

I also use a smaller Lowepro shoulder bag on occasion, as it fits the Bronica in perfectly, with space for film and meter, for storage and occasions I don’t need a flashgun. That one cost £10 from a secondhand photographic shop in Darlington, and looks brand new. I’ve had a few 35mm film cameras in perfect working order for prices of just a few quid, and plenty in the way of props for shoots and still life. Absolutely worth the effort if you have the time, particularly if you still work with, or simply appreciate, film and film cameras.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

